Purple Jay

Mother Goose Nursery0207 277 5951
Purple Jay Lambeth0207 735 6317

Early years foundation stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a legal requirement for all early years settings for children from birth to 5 years of age.

In terms of areas of learning and development, the EYFS established 7 areas of learning and development, which are divided in three prime areas and four specific areas.

The prime areas constitute the base for children’s health and future success.

The Prime areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development

We aim to provide the children with a strong foundation within the Prime areas, which will allow them to excel through the specific areas. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Our Early years practitioners plan activities according to children’s needs and interests with the intension to development their cognitive, emotional and physical abilities through the curriculum.

We then assess their development through observations and information from parents/carers to create an accurate picture so we all know, how we can further help our children to improve.